Dynojet Autotune repair. Burnt Diode S1G

Discussion in 'Mods, Upgrades, Accessories and Products' started by Yogeshsodah, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Yogeshsodah

    Yogeshsodah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Dear tech Gurus

    I bought an used Autotune module but the unit never turned on. out of curiosity i disassembled the entire unit and this is what i found on the board. I tried to contact DJ but they were unable to help. my google skills explains me that the burnt component is a diode.



    Currently I tried t power the unit with a 9V adapter (9.62V on multimeter) and tested the output at the burnt diode which was 2.64Volts. I gave direct 9.6V to the output side of the diode still the unit did not turn up.



    techies pls help to bring my autotune back to life. WhatsApp Image 2018-07-12 at 5.41.36 PM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-12 at 5.41.35 PM(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-12 at 5.41.35 PM.jpeg
     
  2. Barstewardsquad

    Barstewardsquad God Like

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7,422
    Likes Received:
    3,335
    Assuming the diode is on the power in line it would presumably be for polarity protection. If the system is 12v based I wouldn't expect 9.6v to be enough to be able to drive it, but my knowledge of electronics is old and rusty.

    First thought is that whatever caused the diode to blow may very well have taken out more components.
     
  3. Yogeshsodah

    Yogeshsodah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks mate: Success at step 1 achieved. there i a similar diode on the back side of the board and upon checking the continuity on the meter it as a direct 1:1 connection and following laymans proceedure i removed the busted diode from the board and jumped the 2 points with a very thin wire element and to my surprise the unit came back to life on bench testing. Will be installing it to on the bike and do a live test.
     
  4. Yogeshsodah

    Yogeshsodah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    UNFORTUNATELY the unit is not functioning as it should, its flashing green light and AFR reads as 9.99. My CBR1000 also has an Autotune which flashes red light upon start up and not green.

    I have emailed DJ again with another name and email just to see what they reply.



    By the way i am installing this on my 2011 GSF1250 bandit.
     
  5. Yogeshsodah

    Yogeshsodah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Some more pics of the module. WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.16 AM(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.16 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.15 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.14 AM(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.14 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.13 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.16 AM(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.16 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.15 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.14 AM(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.14 AM.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2018-07-15 at 7.17.13 AM.jpeg
     

Share This Page