how to reset ecu mapping on 2012

Discussion in 'General 1000RR Discussion' started by Tinks, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. Tinks

    Tinks New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi just got new can fitted at the dealers & they said I don't need a power commander as they will reset the ecu. I don't know how they did this :confused: Any ideas as I had it done with the baffle out & want to try it with it in.
    All I know that after they rest the ecu, to remap it for the new can they start it up from cold & then let it run up to temp until the fan kicks in & they said that's it done.
     
  2. wedgiewolves#223

    wedgiewolves#223 God Like

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    2,313
    I don't know how it's done but I have a scorpion serket can and they threw a diffrent map into mine to improve the idle for free but the mechanic said its just 3 maps to sort the fuelling issue at idle not through the rev range in various gears a power commander helps a lot more
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. sinewave

    sinewave God Like

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8,132
    Likes Received:
    4,614
    An ECU reset is not a remap.

    All bikes can have their ECU's reset, in the Honda's case there is a procedure that's been posted here before which goes sumat like starting the engine without touching the throttle, letting the bike idle until the Fans kick in then switching off again, all the time with no touching of the throttle.

    This I assume will let the fueilng sensors 'Zero' them selves which then lets the ECU cope better with a more free flowing exhaust and thus improve the idling etc.

    As stated a Remap and PCV will improve on this 'fudge' no end.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Tinks

    Tinks New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    Cheers Sinewave thats exactly what they done. I was wondering how without reving the bike the fueling would be correct throu the range.

    Seeing as I'm no riding god, as long as the bike feels ok while driving I will leave the power commander route alone. Only thing that worries me is if the fueling is too lean & burn's out my engine.
     
    #4 Tinks, Jun 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  5. phantom

    phantom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,905
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    You disconnect the battery for ten minutes
    Then reconnect it, start it without throttle then
    Wait for the fan to kick then then hit the kill switch.
    Turn the key off and bingo.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. sinewave

    sinewave God Like

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8,132
    Likes Received:
    4,614
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    What he said! ;)
     
  7. Slick

    Slick Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    1,191
    a quote from another forum from a honda engineer

    That is exactly how a computer is reset on Honda automobiles. Unless you have the Honda Diagnostic Computer, you can manually reset it through the scan tool. The ECU over time will adapt to your driving habits & conditions. The ECU will look at a multitude of sensors values over a determined time. Upon reviewing all of this info the ECU will make short & long term fuel maps based upon driving habits & conditions. Performing an ECU reset clears these fuel maps & various other stored information. IE> cold idle values, IAC values, radio presets, etc....you get the picture. Upon running the vehicle the ECU will be starting from scratch or base values/maps if you will. The ECU will then have to relearn all of these values.

    Think of most stock/OEM systems as an autotune. They have the ability to learn & adjust. Thus the reason you don't need to rejet or add a fuel management system to a Honda Civic with a fart can, headers, & CAI. Most vehicles and for a long time have been using Wide band 02 sensors for great control over the engine. However for some reason in the year 2012 most sport bikes are still using shitty as Narrow band 02 sensors. Think of them as those annoying AFR guages that flash green/yellow/red for rich or lean instead of an exact AFR. Thus is why we have to add power commanders for shit the stock ECU should be able to adjust to. Motorcycles for all there technology are really far behind on the fuel/engine management in my opinion. This technology has been around since at least the early 90's if not late 80's!

    Most automobiles are OBD or CAN complaint and can be reset VIA a scan tool or by pulling the negative cable on the battery for several minutes. However, I don't believe any bikes are OBD or CAN complaint. All of there scan tools/diagonistic computers are probably dealer/manufacture specific. IE> The Honda diagnostic port on our bikes. I have looked in the service manual looking for a reset procedure but have found none. I would assume they either do it with there scan tool, pulling a fuse, or disconnecting the battery.

    The Idle relearn procedure is also the same for the automobiles as it is for the bikes. Start her up & let here run until the cooling fans kick on! It says you are not suppose to touch the throttle. However, my mechanics at the Honda dealership would literally hold the engine at 3-4k RPM until the cooling fan kick on. They were on flat rate pay and in no mood to stand around waiting for the cooling fans to kick on! They held the engines at this rpm to heat up the engine. We never had an issues doing the resets this way. That being said I do not do this on my personal vehicles! I let them idle until the fan kicks on with no throttle inputs.

    This is my first Honda motorcycle and I have never tried an ECU reset. Just my experience in the automotive field, especially with Hondas. One would think the battery route would get it done. If there is no battery the capacitor cannot store energy long enough to maintain ECU memory!
     
  8. Tinks

    Tinks New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    In other words, what phantom said :D lol
     
  9. phantom

    phantom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,905
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    it was my local honda dealer that told me about the fan thing.
    he said they did it to every new blade they got in and that reving
    it would need a reset.Its not much different to how I reset the abs
    and throttle bodies on my audi.dukes were worse, they ran a can bus
    system so after a dealer software update I got the feed to the sidelights
    was reversed so my aftermarket leds stopped working, how random is that lol.
     
  10. Slick

    Slick Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    1,191
    Yes, not like me to be long winded!
     

Share This Page