Quickshifter: ShiftPower

Discussion in 'Mods, Upgrades, Accessories and Products' started by Mr_Chin_LK, Mar 23, 2020.

  1. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    20200320_125909.jpg
    Self isolation is great. This has now gone onto my bike too!
    Chin
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Screenshot_20200323-173649_Photos.jpg
    Bike is filfthy, I know. Will clean her once everything is done (he says)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. tuktuk

    tuktuk Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    836
    You tested it out yet? Not heard of these ones before.

    Can't beat a quickshifter.
     
  4. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Hi tuktuk, I love Quickshifters too! I had problems with my old HM Super Lite on the Blade, so went over to ShiftPower, as I wasn't happy with the HM response when they investigated the problem with it. I only had it on a couple of years, road use only, never tracked. I sent it to them and they literally just said yes, it has failed as I described, almost as if they expected it to! I won't buy HM again because of it. I've used this SP once to test it, but need to try out the settings properly before giving a proper verdict. At the current setting though, doesn't feel as smooth as the HM, needs a bit of uptoe pressure to shift, so I will dial in the softer settings sometime tomorrow and update the thread. Customer service from SP is second to none and this is a race/road version, HM was just road. At £255, seems a bargain, but only time will tell.
    Chin
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. tuktuk

    tuktuk Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    836
    Let me know how you get on with it :) I had a translogic on mine previously and will likely get another but always worth knowing what else is about.
     
  6. raphael

    raphael Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    seen a lot of these lately mate and a lot of good reviews
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. raphael

    raphael Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    1,258

    Good old Honda crap bolts, you need some nice titanium on your bike mate
     
  8. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Hi Raphael, that's good to know, thanks for the heads up. The setting adjusting seems easy too, as the box only has two buttons on it. I'll let everyone know how I get along with it all. Thanks again for the input.
    Chin
     
  9. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    A couple of 8x22 black titanium ones for the rear set hangers? How do I know the size you may wonder, I'm already on the case!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Will do tuktuk, great value piece so far as the Translogic is c.£420 for the Blade compared to the £255 I paid for the SP. Translogic also charge circa £100 more for the CBR units for some reason. There's nothing extra added, so not sure why? Maybe because Blades are the best bikes around!!!! GSXR and the likes are in the region of c£320 FFS!
    Chin
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    I've also heard rave reviews on the Translogic units as they don't seem to have the false neutral problem from 1st to 2nd, whereas, I did this manually on the HM unit for a start!
    Other QS units also need it done manually too. False neutrals scare the be jesus outta me and make me look like a right tool by the pedestrians nearby.
    Chin
     
  12. R.M

    R.M New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    48
    Have had 1 or 2 false neutrals shifting between 1st & 2nd. Just need to be more sure footed & be past 4k rpm

    Translogic QS I'm talking bout.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    At those prices, the Translogic shouldn't do that in my opinion, but it seems as they all do this at times. I know that you're supposed to be pinning it for it to shift gears smoothly and not give false neutrals, hence why I didn't go for the Translogic in the end.
    Chin
     
  14. Frazzle

    Frazzle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    11
    I think if you're bimbling around then a lot of them will complain with 1st to 2nd, my Panigale did, the Aprilia but not the R1... would be interested in your "long term" report though mate, as even though I've only had 1 quick blast on my new to me bike I'm already missing a QS.... I was also leaning towards Translogic although can't afford one yet as busy chucking money at the brakes, keep us posted!
     
  15. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Will do Frazzle. It must be down to which bike models then or the gearbox. My cousin has a Gixxer750 with a HM plus. He says he's never experienced a false neural a year on and said I should buy the Plus, but I'm done with HM. I missed my QS just during the time HM took to investigate the problem with my HM QS failing. Bought the SP and put it on as soon as they confirmed it was fooked.
    My good mate has a 2014 Blade with the HM Super Lite and he suffers the 1st to 2nd gear problem too. He doesn't hang about either!
    Chin
     
  16. tuktuk

    tuktuk Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    836
    The translogic is supposed to be self learning. I thought it was a gimmick however my initial gear changes using it felt a but clumpy but after a short while they were barely noticable except for the exhaust changing tone. Whether or not it knows to cut the ignition for slightly longer when going from 1st to second I have no idea. I never used it to get into second but used it at all revs from 2nd up...
     
  17. Mr_Chin_LK

    Mr_Chin_LK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    99
    Hi tuktuk, the SP isn't self-learning, but has been set up for my model. It was a bit jerky and not as smooth as the HM when shifting, (a G-Force type jerk) as I mentioned in my original post. I haven't had the chance to ride since, but I will still dial in some of the softer and harder settings. The manual just says to note the original settings so it can be set back to the preset for my bike. It did feel better after a while, but that may have just been placebo as I was just enjoying my ride?

    The shift noise is great... beem, beem, beem, beem, beem… (look down, and I'm in 6th doing more than a ton :eek:)

    Chin
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. tuktuk

    tuktuk Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    836
    Transforms a bike, I was never that bothered about having one until I tried one and now hate the fact I dont have one!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2

Share This Page