2012 Clocks on 2009 Model - Gear Position Indicator

Discussion in 'Mods, Upgrades, Accessories and Products' started by ScottH, Dec 2, 2017.

  1. ScottH

    ScottH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi folks,

    I gather that the 2012 clocks are pretty much a plug 'n' play fit to the 2008 / 2009 model, but that the gear position indicator doesn't work as it's controlled by physical components on the engine-side.

    Has anyone looked into retro-fitting these physical components to the 08 / 09 engine - is it possible, and if so, what's required?

    Cheers
     
  2. levin

    levin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    91
    Lambchops can help
     
  3. ScottH

    ScottH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you. Have dropped LC a message.
     
  4. ScottH

    ScottH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    No reply from Lamb Chops. Can anyone else please advise?
     
  5. sps170373

    sps170373 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7,856
    Likes Received:
    3,087
    For what it’s worth you’d be better of with either a gear position indicator or going hm dash route, by the time you’ve bought 12model year clocks plus parts for the gear sensor and the different crankcase to accommodate the it all, yeah they look nice but all the hassle of adding the parts if they even do fit isn’t worth it! Lambchops even has a hm dash now
     
  6. ScottH

    ScottH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers - that's the sort of info I'm after.

    I wanted to know if it was simply a case of changing an engine casing, or if it was a straightforward machining job. If it requires a 2012 > crankcase, then it ain't happening!
     
  7. Odium-fr

    Odium-fr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    76
    Hi ScottH! i just fitted a 2012 dashboard too on my 2010 blade.
    I never found any information about the gear indicator... I doubt you can make it working actually.
    I had a GiPro on the bike before switching to the new dashboard, so I just kept it.
     
  8. ScottH

    ScottH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. I spoke with Andy at AB Performance and he has confirmed it would need a change of crankcase. I'll likely just proceed with my standard clocks and GiPro, or maybe an HM one.
     
  9. BLACKBLADE

    BLACKBLADE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Got 2012 clocks add harness clocks work but bike won’t start as fuel pump isn’t kickin in any ideas please
     
  10. 1000rrboyjay

    1000rrboyjay Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    136
    Must be something you’re missing. Something not plugged in. Bank sensor? It does work I’ve done it.
     

Share This Page