Sprockin hell

Discussion in 'New Members' started by StephenRay, Sep 10, 2020.

1. StephenRay

StephenRay New Member

Hi all newbie here! Recently got myself back into biking world and bought myself a 2010 RR so bit of a grandpa racer, my blade is due a new chain and sprocket and as i've been amiss from the biking fraternity for a spell i have lost touch with what's hot or not (as the youngsters say).
    I've always been a bit of a wrencher with my bikes and would intend to continue with certain jobs like chain replacement, minor servicing, rebuild of R1 from wreckage once or twice hmm maybe 3 times (i'd even attempt tyre changes but my partner would complain about the bent cutlery)
    So I've looked at a couple of chain and sprocket options but am reluctant as anybody to throw money away on cheap products, my question is is is is the Sigma X ring chain with Renthal sprockets as offered by sports bike shop a good options or does anybody have a better alternative for around the same cost (or cheaper)???

Ps forgot to mention as i have chosen to purchase this motorcycle without my partners concent on the preconception "i need it to comute" i am on the thinnest of shoe string budgets and also the thinnest of threads of staying in my house.

Please help

• Funny Funny x 6
  2. Muffking

Muffking God Like

Welcome. Just remind her that the country is in a state of lockdown and you can't move out.
    Other than that I'm no help. :D

• Funny Funny x 4
  3. hitch

hitch Elite Member

Welcome, nice first post.

Got any pics?

4. Barstewardsquad

Barstewardsquad God Like

Welcome. Only time I have had a sprocket changed I went for OEM.

5. Boothman

Boothman Elite Member

Hi and welcome to the forum. Look at it this way - its always easier to seek forgiveness than get permission. Can’t comment on the chain and sprocket question, but Sportsbikeshop are (IMHO) the best for products, price/price match and customer service.

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Selmer50mark