WSBK - what to do......?

Discussion in 'Racing & Bike Sport' started by Singh1000RR, Jul 11, 2017.

1. Singh1000RR

Singh1000RR Active Member

Before I start i'd like to say i'm a big Jonny Rea fan. Supported him from BSB to WSS to WSBK (Ten Kate Honda squad).

However his (and Kawaski's) domination of WSBK is making it boring. Barring mechanical or accidents I can see him finishing 1st and 2nd in every race. I watch BSB or WSBK every year and the last few WSBK seasons have been dull.

Even with the reverse grid - he's normally in the top 3 within the first few laps. I know its not his fault and the other teams need to raise their game but something needs to be done asap.

Dorna are on about moving to a more super stock specification and single ECU - this MIGHT be the answer. I'm not technical enough to know - what do other people think?

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Robbie

Robbie Active Member

I agree WSBK is boring apart from watching Chaz backing that ducati into nearly every corner. Rumours that I have picked up on are that IF Dorna force everyone to go superstock spec engine and single ECU then several of the manufacturers have said that they will quit, so in my view effectively holding Dorna to ransom, I cannot remember which ones, but I am sure that BMW might have been one of them. This of course would be bad for the championship that is already struggling, if manufacturers start dropping out, we want more bikes on the grid not less, I think that Dorna needs to look at the BSB Superbikes and get the manufacturers to watch that series also as the single ECU and other rules have worked for BSB albeit it didn't happen overnight.

Just my musings.

3. Frankblue

Frankblue New Member